Still waiting

waiting-is-the-hardest-part-quote

The next steps are to get new scans and get them over to UCSD to be presented to their tumor board.  Hopefully they will have some options for us and then we decide what will be best for me.  If they can do surgery but it’s super risky, we’ll have to make those decisions.  I’m still praying that there will be something for me that won’t be too invasive.

I got my CT scheduled for this morning but I couldn’t get a date for my MRI until the 27th.  Ugh.  And that’s just to get the scans.  Since it’s Thanksgiving week I likely wouldn’t get the scans over to UCSD in time for the following Tuesday tumor board so I probably wouldn’t be presented until December 10th.  Almost a month from now!  That’s a long time any way but when you’re dealing with someone who might only have months to live?  Yikes!  Super scary.
So when I showed up for my CT this morning I started going for it.  “Do you have any cancelations?” “How can I get an earlier date?” “Is there someone that has the ability to do something for me?”
A bald head and some tears did work a little magic and they actually got me in a couple of hours after my CT.  They even apologized to me that I had to wait around for it.  Hahaha  Are you kidding?  I’m just so stoked they pushed stuff around to get me in.
Tomorrow I will go pick the scans up and take them over to UCSD.  That should be plenty of time to get in for the Nov. 19th tumor board.

It’s been awhile now since the “new prognosis” was given and I can honestly say I’m doing better than I thought I would be.  I think I’m even doing better than when I was first diagnosed with the cancer.  It’s a very strange place to be in and maybe I haven’t fully processed everything?  Or maybe it’s because we still don’t really have all of the answers yet.  But I’m OK.

I’ve certainly had a few depressing days and I still have my moments.  I’ll talk more about that in the next post.  For the most part I’m trying to just get back to living.  Trying to make the most out of every day.
MJ surprised me with Jetpack flight in Mission Bay.

P1500818

It was incredible!  I felt like a superhero 🙂

P1500823

She’s the best.  She knows how to keep me going.  I’m not going to speak for her, but I can tell you that she’s doing OK too.  She’s an amazing support to me and I honestly don’t know what I would do without her.  I don’t think I would handle this journey very well I can tell you that.

Besides flying around the Bay, I’ve been going to my groups and classes and going to other appointments. I’ve actually been quite busy. A nice busy though.  A good distraction but not avoiding. I cleaned out my closet and working on clearing my office.  I’m almost done so I can spend my days doing artwork or whatever else seems like a good way to spend the day.

I’ve been spending a lot more time on my relationships.  Having conversations with family and friends. It’s extremely important to me and I’m really loving spending the time with everyone.
PLUS, we have video calling!  I mean, how cool is that?  It’s like the Jetsons!
If you’ve never used it, Google+ Hangouts are quite fun and a great way to involve a whole group of people.  If you are interested in hanging out but aren’t sure how it works, let me know and I’ll get you up and running.  I’m setting up weekly chat times and will post them. Join us when you can.

Screen Shot 2013-10-25 at 5.31.21 PM


Calling, texting and video chatting are those things that I always said I should do and then put it off.  I’m sad I have and I’m making the time now. And I can tell you already that I will never say that “I wish I hadn’t wasted so much time talking to my family and friends”
Try it.  I bet you won’t regret it either.

Leave a Reply

