Just take a Tylenol

What are the most common side effects of Neulasta® (pegfilgrastim)?
The most common side effect you may experience is aching in the bones and muscles. If this happens, it can usually be relieved with a nonaspirin pain reliever, such as acetaminophen.”

My white blood counts dropped while I was in the hospital so on Saturday I had to get a shot of Neulasta.  It stimulates the bone marrow and promotes the growth of white blood cells.  Based on the above information that I was given when I got the shot, I figured it wouldn’t be too bad.

While looking up more information about it, I found this picture:

concepteNeulasta

wtf???
I have no idea what the heck it means.  Weird.

So I got the shot Saturday morning and didn’t really feel anything.  Went about my business and had no effects.  Until last night.

I went to one of my cancer support groups and on the way there started to feel this pressure in my lower back.  As I sat through the session the pain started to spread and get worse.  By the time I got home it felt like someone was trying to scrape the muscles off of my bones. Tylenol my ass.
I would say I’m about a 6.  Not fun.

pain - real pain scale

I realize that everyone reacts to medication very differently.  I have also come to realize that I tend to have different and more extreme reactions to medications.  I should’ve expected this.  However, in reading more about this drug it seems that quite a few people experience pain that is a bit more than just taking an aspirin will relieve.

I ended up taking Vicodin and managed to get some sleep last night.  Cats slept on me all night.  I’d like to think they were trying to do their part in helping me heal but they were probably just cold.  Either way is was a nice snuggle.

I woke up this morning feeling like I was in a car accident.  Each and every one of the 206 bones in my body seemed to have something to say today.  Took more Vicodin and I’m feeling better.  For now.  Can’t take too much since I still need to take care of the kids later this afternoon. Don’t really want to model “high mom” today.
Hopefully my bones will stop screaming and this will pass soon.

MjAxMi03NjEzZmJlODZmOGJmYTE0

3 thoughts on “Just take a Tylenol

  1. I agree, the tree is like a bad Wizard of Oz movie only the trees stayed put! Can you take a warm bath Heather?

  2. Thanks, Michelle.

    Terri, the warm bath helps a little. The pain just seems to come from so deep inside my bones. Luckily the Vicodin helps but it makes me a little nauseous. The pain has seemed to lessen today. Hopefully it’ll clear up later today or tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

