Health Update

Just a quick check in on where I’m at.

Coming off the Morphine and having low hemoglobin levels a month ago I was the most exhausted I think I’ve ever been.  It took energy just to go for a car ride.  MJ was the perfect coach through it all.  She planned little trips to get me out in the world and get a little exercise.
MJ says I’m a different person since I’ve been off the Morphine.  I didn’t think I was all that different but I guess I was whacked out.  My home nurse mentioned it too. I just love not having to remember to take it every day and not feeling like a big turd if I forgot to.  I’ve had very little pain since I’ve been off and have Vicodin to take if I need to, but I’m needing to less and less.
My blood counts are getting back to normal too.  My hemoglobin went back up to 9.  Still pretty low.  Hopefully it will keep moving up and not drop ever again.  That sucked.
I didn’t realize how much energy I had lost until this last week when I’ve started to feel normal again.  I’ve started to do more things around the house, started to get back to my normal outside activities and even started going back to the gym.  OK, I mostly go to sit in the hot tub, but I do manage to either get in a couple of laps in the pool or a few minutes on the treadmill.
I still get connected to the 5FU pump every other week and have to wear it for two days.  Last round I took the pump with me to the gym.  Boy did I get stares.  I was waiting for someone to ask me what it was.  I was all ready to tell them it was a new music player.  Download liquid music into your blood stream and it automatically plays when you want it.

My hair is still coming in.  People told me it might come back curly and boy were they right!

photo

Hard to tell in this crappy pic, but it’s quite red too.  It’s more the color it was when I was a kid.  I actually like it.  Well see how manageable it is as it gets longer.

Something I haven’t mentioned in awhile is my CEA numer.
“The carcinoembryonic antigen (CEA) test measures the amount of this protein that may appear in the blood of some people who have certain kinds of cancers, especially large intestine (colon and rectal) cancer. It may also be present in people with cancer of the pancreas, breast, ovary, or lung.”
The CEA number in a normal adult is less than 5.  My number when I was first diagnosed was over 1600.  Over the last year that number has slowly started coming down.  A few months ago I finally got below 5.  I’ve been between 3 and 4 for the last month.

I have 2 more rounds of chemo and then I’ll have a new scan.  I’m more nervous for this one than any I’ve had before.  This could be a very big one.  My last scan was in Nov. and I only had 3 very small active tumors left.  Did I knock those suckers out?  I’m so glad I have things to keep my mind off of it this month or I’d be a wreck.

So I’m doing better!  I was hoping to start training again last month and that didn’t happen, but I’m working towards it this month.  Also looking to start yoga.  I’ve been wanting to for a really long time and either chickened out or felt crappy.

Oh, and I got a new hat.
photo

Leave a Reply

