Soooo I’m gonna keep on bloging now

It’s my “blogaversary”!

It was one year ago today that I got “that call” and started this blog.  I can’t believe it’s been a year already.  And I’m still here kickin’ it!

I remember that phone call still.  I was standing in the living room looking out the window.  I was hoping for some kind of liver disease.  I really didn’t think it was cancer.
Once he dropped the C-bomb I couldn’t think straight.  It was like my brain severed from my body.  I remember still staring out the window listening to his voice start to sound like the adults on Peanuts specials.
He said he thought it was likely gastro-intestinal and that they would “just give me some chemo, maybe take it out and no problem.  Nothing to worry about.”  NOTHING TO WORRY ABOUT?  Knowing what I know now I so would’ve lost it on the guy.  I didn’t fully understand metastatic cancer at the time.  And now that I do, I know that any cancer that has spread to the liver is stage IV.  Nothing to worry about?  There is no stage V!
I guess in hindsight it was probably good that way.  Reading back at that first blog post I really wasn’t all that panicked.  Shocked?  Yes. But I at least had time for the whole stage IV thing to sink in.
It was weird having to call MJ.  I didn’t want to tell her over the phone but I couldn’t wait either.  I had to tell her right away.  I’m pretty sure I cried but I don’t remember.

So now here we are a year later.  It seems like yesterday some days and a million years ago on others.  Today it feels like yesterday.
I’m happy with my year.  I’m happy with the progress.
And look!  I have hair!

Photo on 1-19-13 at 4.12 PM #3

Thank you all for your support this last year.  I don’t have the words to express how much it all means to me.  Thank you for the jokes, the funny pictures and videos, the warrior poses and the love.

I love you all and I’m gonna go and kick some more ass now.

Leave a Reply

