One Year Ago

It was one year ago today that this whole crazy canSer journey started.
(Yes, I just spelled that canSer. I stole it from the book Crazy, Sexy Cancer. She said she likes to misspell it on purpose to give it less power.)

One year ago today we went to a three kings party that friends of ours had. I had been watching my diet but decided to indulge in the holiday treats at the party. Nothing crazy, a few pretzels, some other snackies, a couple of pigs in a blanket and a couple of beers. I came home and was super sick before bed. I figured I had just overdone it.
After losing my treats I started having pain in my side.

20130106-203937.jpg

I already knew that I had a gallstone from a scan I got years ago after having kidney stones.
I went to urgent care the next day. She was just going to refer me to surgery. I
m not sure why I insisted on an ultrasound, but I’m glad I did. Cause that’s when we found the beast and well, you know the rest.

Looking back at the last year, I have so many emotions I don’t know how to express them all. Some days I wonder how I made it though everything.

I’m looking forward to what this year will bring. I anticipate some struggles, sure, but I’m mostly looking forward to seeing what I’m able to accomplish again. Getting back into training and cranking out school, going and doing fun things with my family. It’s going to be a big year.

Right now I’m a bit weak. I’m not sure if it’s from coming off the Morphine still or if it’s this cold that I seem to be fighting. I haven’t had any Morphine in over a week and that makes me very happy. I’m still having hot flashes, cold sweats and achy legs, but it’s all getting better day by day.

One thought on “One Year Ago

  1. Your weakness is likely “all of the above!” You continue to amaze me Heather! I am changing the spelling of your name by the way…HEA”L”TH”I”ER. I think that is who and what you are! A HEALTHIER HEATHER!!! Love you all!

Leave a Reply

