Old/New Concerns

Once I was back in the hospital (April 26) they ordered a million tests to find out what was causing my fevers.  Blood tests, scans, pokes and prods.
One of the tests they ordered was a HIDA scan.  They didn’t really tell me much about the scan before hand.  That was probably a good thing.  The machine kinda looks like a small CT scanner.

It’s similar to the machine in this picture but the one I was in seemed a bit smaller.  I had to lay flat on my back with my arms to my side.  No room to move at all.  Unlike the above picture I was completely inside a tube.  My head was the only part that was out.  Luckily I was very tired and went to sleep.  I think they may have given me sedatives at one point too.  After a good snooze I woke up and stared at the ceiling for awhile.  As I was waking up I realized how stiff I was feeling.  I asked the technician how much longer it was going to be.  He said just 15 more minutes.  Ugh.  Well, it turns out I was in that machine for 96 minutes.  No wonder my butt hurt so much!  So thankful I was that tired and had no idea that’s how long I was going to be in there.  No way that would’ve gone as well as it did had I known.  haha.

They finally figured out that my gallbladder was inflamed and likely causing the fevers.  It was the gallbladder attack that lead us to those first scans that found the liver spots.  The cancer trumped everything once we found it and now the gallbladder wants attention again.  Unfortunately since I had that major surgery they didn’t feel like it’s safe to take the gallbladder out.
The best they could do was to insert a tube into my gallbladder that attaches to a bag where the bile drains into.  Another thing to hang off my belly.  Ugh.  I was not excited about this bag at all.  Even though it temporary, I will have it for a minimum of 4 weeks.  After that they will re-evaluate if they can go ahead with surgery.  I suspect they will put surgery off for as long as possible.

I stayed in the hospital for almost a week and was so happy once I was home.  Wasn’t expecting that detour from vacation.

Leave a Reply

