Vacation – Part 7 – Colón, Panama

We didn’t purchase any of the excursions the cruise line offered.  Too expensive.  We did look at all of them though to try and decide what was available to do at each stop in the time we would have available at port.
MJ was the one to look up and research most of this.  I just kinda went along for the ride.  I was happy to be out and about and was pretty much game for whatever.
When we got of in Panama and MJ talked about going to an Indian Reservation, what came to my mind wasn’t at all what we saw that day.
When we were in Australia we went to an “Aboriginal Culture Park” where we were toured through an aboriginal experience but all staged.  I guess I assumed that was the kind of thing we were going to do on this day.
I was wrong.

My first clue was pulling up to the side of the river and they pulled the canoes up that would be taking us to the reservation.  It was a rather rustic ride. But very peaceful.

It was an amazing welcome.  They sang and danced as the greeted us and they seemed genuinely thrilled to welcome us and show us around.  Come to find out that this is primarily how they make their money.  Show the rich white people around.  For having to make a living that way they were genuinely kind and sincere in sharing their way of life.  Very happy people.

The chief/medicine man gave us a tour of the grounds.  He showed us the school he built for the children, the different huts and their functions as well as some of the living spaces.

He also showed us uses of some of the fruits off the trees.  Mostly medicinal remedies such as snake bites and bronchial issues.

After our tour we were treated to lunch.  They fried fresh talapia from the nearby lake wrapped in a banana leaf with fried plantains.  It was the best fish I think I’ve ever had.
After lunch they treated us to music and dancing.  It was beautiful!  I was invited by one of the little boys to dance and I had the time of my life.
I was so grateful to be invited to share in their lives and it was such an amazing adventure.

On our way back to the ship we passed by one of the many tourist shops and MJ spotted a “Colón” baseball cap.  We had to get it.  I mean, I needed a “Team Colon” hat for my chemo days 😀

2 thoughts on “Vacation – Part 7 – Colón, Panama

  1. Very happy to read that you had a great experience with one of our indigenous groups, the emberas, in my home country 🙂 The photos are great!!! And now you are part of the Team Colon with you hat. In Panama, when you are from “team colon” we say that you are “C3”. 🙂

Leave a Reply

