First week of chemo

It’s been a week since my infusion and starting taking pills.
The first 3 days I was completely exhausted.  I would wake up to eat and go to the bathroom and that was about it.  I would try to watch a TV show and just nod off.  Every day gets better though.  The last 2 days I’ve felt back to my normal energy level.
The cold sensitivity in my hands and feet come and go and it’s tolerable.
I’ve had to take my nausea medicine only a few times and it was more as a preventative measure. I haven’t really felt “ill” at all.
So overall things have been rather uneventful.  Which is great!  I have heard that the first round is usually the easiest.  That the 3rd and 4th rounds are where the side effects really kick in.  I guess we’ll see.  I’m optimistic that it won’t get too horrible.

Chemo was confusing going into it and I imagine is confusing for some of you, so here’s how mine works…

Part 1 is where I go to the hospital and have drugs injected through IV.
While I was in the hospital after my surgery, they installed a port into my chest.

This is the scar.  There’s a little lump there where you can feel it.  If this really interests you, you can check out this website  – Implantable ports.  This explains how it all works.
So that’s where they stick the IV in.

Part 2 is I take 3 pills in the morning and 3 in the evening every day for 2 weeks.
That’s it.  These are chemo pills.

 And then I have a week off.

Everyone has a different regiment.  And mine may change if this one doesn’t seem to work.  The other one I could end up doing would require me wearing a pump for 2 days.  I’m kinda hoping to not have to do that one.

So that’s it.  It’s actually kinda boring.  haha
Day by day I’m trying to get back to my normal routine and life.  It’s still hard to plan to do things not knowing how I will feel.  We are still planning on leaving for our trip in a week and I plan to really get a routine going when we get back.  Look at getting into exercise classes and other things to get me feeling like I’m not “homebound sick”.
Don’t need a crazy Heather at home 😛

Leave a Reply

