Being home and chemo

Since being home from the hospital I can’t say that I’ve had very many great days.  I have quite a bit of pain from the tumors in my liver.  I also have “tumor fevers”.  I get fevers and overall feel achy and miserable.  Usually leads up to sweats that soak whatever clothes and how ever many layers I’m wearing.  Finding comfort isn’t always easy.  I do have some kick ass pain meds, but I don’t want to feel zapped out all the time either.

So my days lately have consisted of watching TV, sleeping or doing a jigsaw puzzle while listening to NPR.  I try to get some “exercise” in.  That usually means going to the store with MJ or walking around the garden.

I very much enjoy getting e-mail and messages from everyone, but I feel bad that I don’t always have the energy to respond.  Please know I really do appreciate all of you checking in though.  Hopefully things will start to turn around and I will feel well enough to get back to everyone.


I start chemo tomorrow.

I’d be lying if said I wasn’t scared shitless.
Fear of the unknown.  Not knowing what kind of reaction I’m going to have.  They have a list of common side effects, but EVERYONE reacts differently.
I’ve heard the first couple of rounds aren’t too bad.  We’ll see.

Please check in with me my warriors.  It may take me a little bit to get back to you or my response might be very light, but I do love hearing from everyone.  Now is the time to get that makeup on and start kicking ass!

I love you all!

4 thoughts on “Being home and chemo

  1. Hi Heather…

    We’ve never met, but I’m a long-time friend of MJ’s parents. I knew MJ when she was a little girl. I’ve been following your story and have kept you and your family in my prayers. I am amazed at how strong, brave, articulate and engaged you are through all of this. It is a real gift to share your experiences with us all. I feel honored to know you through the electronic media. You are an amazing woman!! I had a thought… your “tumor fevers” … it may be menopause night sweats caused by removal of female parts (ovaries etc) I’ve heard that when you have that kind of surgery, your body goes into an instant menopause… very normal and and nothing to worry about. Anyway… that just occured to me as I read your message and I thought I would share it with you. No need to respond. I understand that things are difficult right now. But know that you are loved and appreciated … and part of this miraculous, wonderful universe. Stay brave… stay strong… you will get through this. 🙂
    Layla Fiske

  2. Hi Heather~

    I also appreciate that you’re sharing this most intimate experience with us. Thank you.
    Good luck with chemo. You ‘ll get through it — one treatment at a time — one moment at a time. Please know that we are all praying for you. Remember that “nothing in God’s world happens by accident”. There is a reason for this. Don’t know what it is & you may never know. Just know that God is holding you in the palms of his hands.

    Take care, my friend.

    Love,
    Lynn

  3. You have no idea how many people are fighting along with you by your side. I’m also a friend of Mary Jo’s, from high school. I am following your story closely, thinking of you & your family daily, several times a day. You have my thoughts and well-wishes. I know I’m not alone in this.

    Hang in there.

Leave a Reply

