::sigh:: the system

I’m trying to remain very positive about the care I’m receiving right now.  Luckily I have health insurance and I live close to very good medical facilities.  I am very grateful for that.  I just get a little frustrated getting shifted through the system.

The doc I saw on Tuesday night ran a bunch of new labs.  Apparently my white blood count was pretty high so she called me Wednesday afternoon and told me to go into the ER.  She said she’d call ahead to refer me for a scan.
So I went.
Still not feeling well and super not happy to be waiting in the ER for hours and hours.  The ER doc wasn’t really sure why she referred me in.  He basically said, “well, you have cancer”  Um, yeah.  Know that.
I guess they wanted to make sure I didn’t have some kind of infection starting up somewhere.  Which makes sense.  But 7 hours and $100 later? Kinda bites.

We met with a medical oncologist today.  She went over mostly what we already know.

And by the way, for those of you who are not familiar with cancer, I’m sure you’ve at least heard of cancer staging?  If not, Google it.  We already knew this was likely going to be the case, but my cancer no matter where the origin at this point is stage IV. I’m pretty sure there’s very few phrases you can say to a person that is as scary or devastating than “You have stage IV cancer” Luckily I’ve had some time to let this soak in so I didn’t fall off the table or anything when she told me.

She thinks it’s likely colon cancer and asked why we hadn’t had a colonoscopy yet.  I’m pretty sure I actually rolled my eyes so hard you could hear them.  It’s the one thing we’ve asked about a few times and no one has said we needed it yet.  Hmmph!  So she put in a referral for us today and they called me this afternoon to schedule.
“The earliest available appointment we have at any of the facilities is April 22nd”.
Are.  you.  shitting.  me?????
I seriously almost lost it on the poor guy.  I wanted to just scream “I HAVE STAGE 4 CANCER MOTHER FUCKER DO I LOOK LIKE I HAVE THAT KIND OF TIME”?
But I realize it’s not his fault. So I now I’ve been playing phone tag all day trying to get something done.

We switch health systems March 1st.  Luckily the oncologist I saw today was very understanding of that and even offered to call her oncologist friends there to help get the ball rolling.  Also very lucky that I happened to be in this system before.  I called today to see if I could set up an appointment for the first of March and it’s already done.  She even set up me so I could create an online profile with their online system to access all of my information.  I’ve already sent an e-mail to my primary to let her know what’s going on to see if there’s any way we can get this moving so we don’t delay treatment any longer.  So far, I’m way more impressed with this new system.  A blessing in disguise I think.

As for me, I’m doing OK.  Much better than the last few days.  I still get pretty tired.  Dr gave me Norco for pain and well, that’s awesome 😀  I only take it at night though to help me sleep.  I want to be as functioning as possible during the day.  It’s hard to plan things because I never know how I’m going to feel, but I’m going to make it a point to start getting to yoga and swimming.  If I can get at least those things in I’ll feel accomplished.

Thank you all again for the birthday wishes and all of the support and love you’re sending this way.  I really couldn’t be doing all of this without it.  ❤

One thought on “::sigh:: the system

Leave a Reply

